Social Media

Monday, 09 November 2015

Winners of Wales Care Awards announced at emotional ceremony in Cardiff

Written by The Editorial Team

The 13th annual Wales Care Awards took place in Cardiff's City Hall on Friday with Welsh Government Health Minister Mark Drakeford and the Communities and Tackling Poverty Minister Lesley Griffiths among the guests.

The audience applauded as 21 categories of awards were presented ranging from exceptional newcomer to excellence in dementia care and the prestigious Dignity In Care award.

There was also an emotional special tribute award to the family of Trudy Jones - a care home worker from Blackwood tragically killed on holiday in the Tunisian resort of Sousse this summer. Her family were invited to the event to receive the special honour.

There was also a personal message from Welsh opera star Bryn Terfel, whose Bryn Terfel Foundation sponsors the Promoting the Arts in Social Care Award, for winner Gillian Green of Live Music Now who said, "I wasn't expecting a personal message from Bryn, I'm quite overwhelmed."

Gwenllian Davies, of Awel Tywi Care Home in Llandeilo, was recipient fo the Craig Thomas Lifetime Achievement Award - Wales' oldest woman was told about the award on camera in a short clip relayed to the audience. Her award was accepted on her behalf by Older People's Commissioner Sarah Rochira.

The 2015 Wales Care Awards winners list announced

Exceptional Newcomer

  • GOLD Susan Lloyd, At Home - Vale Senior Care, Denbighshire
  • SILVER Angelo Corria, Home Instead, Cardiff
  • BRONZE Aneurin Brown, Hallmark Care Homes, Greenhill Manor, Merthyr Tydfil

The Social Care Health & Safety Award

  • GOLD Sarah Jackson, Ludlow Street Healthcare, Cardiff
  • SILVER Tracy King, Pendine Park Care Organisation,

Supported Living or Small Group Community Living Care Practitioner Award

  • Sharon Aspray, Embrace Group, Denbigh
  • Sian Roberts, Wrexham Council
  • Vicky Bailey, Regard Partnership, Kingston, Surrey
  • Wayne Brookfield, Wrexham Council

Residential Care Practitioner

  • Chris Balahura, Fairways Care Ltd, Treborth, Bangor
  • Janet Davies, Tracscare, Swansea
  • Stacey Moore, Procare Wales Ltd, Rhyl
  • Samantha Thomas, Clwyd Alyn Housing Association – Plas Bod Llwyd Care Home, Newbridge

Leadership in Residential Care Services

  • Jacqueline Innis, Talbot Court Care Home, Neath
  • Martin Taylor, Summerhill Group, Cwmbran
  • Judith Richards, Clwyd Alyn. Pennaf Housing Group, St Asaph
  • Marina Bowles, Careinn Ltd, Rhayader

Leadership & Management in Supported Living or Small Community Award

  • Audra West, Independent Living Ltd, Wrexham
  • Sam Evans, Abacare Ltd, Bangor
  • Wayne Bickford, Ucan Care Ltd, Treharris

Promoting Fulfilled Lives Award

  • Dawn Derrick, Handsale Ltd, Aberavon, Neath
  • Gareth Moxon, Calon Lan Community Care, Llandudno
  • Kate Galloway, Wales Care & Support Team, Action on Hearing Loss Cymru, Cardiff

Nurse of the Year

  • June Edwards, Talbot Court Care Home, Neath
  • Madel Kuhn, Hallmark Care Homes, Cardiff
  • Aine Loughran, Hallmark Care Homes, Merthyr Tydfil

Outstanding Service

  • Catherine Robinson, Gofal Bro, Caernarfon
  • Bronwen Morris, Old Vicarage, Wrexham
  • Busisiwe Zuma, Barchester, Llanelli
  • Christine Lovell, Ludlow Street Healthcare, Cardiff

Leading Practice in Learning Disability & Mental Health Services

  • Alexander Smith, Life Long Learning 4 Living, Rhosllanerchrugog, Wrexham
  • Carys Pritchard, Abacare Ltd, Bangor
  • Laura Haysham, Orbis Education & Care Ltd, Cardiff

Commitment to Quality in Housekeeping & Hospitality

  • Deborah Price, Talbot Court Care Home, Neath
  • Hannah Clatworthy, Embrace Group, Ystrad, Rhondda Cynon Taf
  • Kath Thomas, Barchester, Swansea

Excellence in Palliative & End of Life Care

  • Ceri Breeze, Handsale Ltd, Aberavon, Neath Port Talbot
  • Helen Wooding, Wrexham Council

Innovation in Residential Child Care & Young People

  • Louise Irving, Afon Goch Children's Homes, Gwynedd
  • Helen Rees, Orbis Education & Care Ltd, Bronllys, Brecon

The Peter Clarke Award for Promoting Excellence in Services for Children and Young People

  • Hazel & David Owen, Conwy County Council , Conwy Child & Family Service

Excellence in Catering Award

  • Lisa Anderson, Hallmark Care Homes, Cartref Annwyl Fan Care Home, Carmarthenshire
  • Daniel Cole, Hallmark Care Homes, Shire Hall Care Home, Cardiff
  • Karolina Raslawska, Embrace Group, Cartrefle Res. Home, Llanwrst

Commitment to Training & Workforce Development

  • Simon Powell, Tracscare, Swansea
  • Joyce Williams, Smartcare Pendine Park Teaching Care Centre, Wrexham
  • Brenda Davies, Embrace Group, Cartrefle Residential Home, Llanwrst

Excellence in Dementia Care

  • Claire Mathe, S & S Care Ltd, Caergwrle, Wrexham
  • Cheryl Beer, Grwp Gwalia, Swansea
  • Shamilla Yoganathan, Barleyblind Ltd, Cartref Ael Y Bryn, Ammanford

For more on the awards and winners gallery, visit: